On 2 March 2016, the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) and the Ministry of Commerce (MOFCOM) of China released the Trial Negative List. The Trial Negative List specifies industries and businesses which are not allowed to invest and operate in China. Tianjin, Shanghai, Fujian and Guangdong are pilot regions for the Trial Negative List.

The release of the Trial Negative List is a further step toward the nationwide implementation of the Negative List. It is expected that a nationwide Negative List will apply in 2018 and will replace the Catalogue for the Guidance of Foreign Investment Industries (the Catalogue). If industries are listed on the Negative List, additional approval requirements apply. Investment in industries not listed in the Negative List will receive the same treatment as domestic companies, and no additional approval requirements apply.

For more information, see:
http://lgl.kn/aa59f .