United States export controls mainly fall under the jurisdiction of three federal agencies.
First, the Department of Commerce’s Bureau of Industry and Security administers the Export Administration Regulations, which control exports and reexports of a wide range of commodities, software, and technology.
Second, the Department of State’s Directorate of Defense Trade Controls administers the International Traffic in Arms Regulations, which regulate the export of goods, technical data, and services designed for military use.
Third, the Department of the Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control administers economic and trade sanctions against targeted countries, individuals, and entities.

This white paper is intended for general information purposes only. It is not intended as legal advice. The reader is urged to consult a qualified advisor before making any decisions relating to the matters discussed in this white paper.

By Suzan M. Lehmann of Hinckley Allen